For DonorsFor Applicants

Sara Chaiton Scholarship for Resilient Women

1 winner$500
Application Deadline
Aug 25, 2024
Winners Announced
Sep 25, 2024
Education Level
Recent scholarship winners
Eligibility Requirements
Education Level:
High school senior, undergraudate, or graduate student

Sara Chaiton was a beloved mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother who embodied resilience and strength throughout her life.

Sara was a Holocaust survivor whose life was torn apart by the Nazis when she was just 15 years old. After losing most of her family and community, Sara was able to emigrate to Canada and returned to high school in her 50s. 

This scholarship aims to honor the incredible life of Sara Chaiton by supporting Jewish students who have been impacted by the loss of a loved one.

Any Jewish, female student who is a high school senior, undergraduate, or graduate student whose education was changed or temporarily halted by the loss of an immediate relative may apply for this scholarship. We welcome the applications of working and/or low-income students in particular.

To apply, tell us about the person you lost, how they impacted you, and what has helped you persevere to continue your education.

Selection Criteria:
Ambition, Drive, Impact
Published December 27, 2023
Essay Topic

Tell us about the person you lost and how they changed you as a person. What has contributed to your resilience in continuing with your education?

400–600 words

Winners and Finalists

September 2023

Taylor glazer
Alexa Cohen
Rachel Swensen
Mia Young
Sarah Shein
Taylor B
Renata Chaves
Abigail Baker
Jadyn Fox
Hannah Niznik
Lillianna Libowitz
Sarah Gerber
Malka Heidingsfeld
Sofia Sanchez
Mollie Silver
Nicole Hirsh
Lindsay Jaffe
Bonnie Lerman
Allison Fahrbach
gillian ramirez
Layne Dodge
Aliza A
Eliana Rubin
Gianna Cozzoli
Diana Leviyeva
Rebekkah Hallgren
Miriam Marczewski
Rose Snyder
Melissa Cignatta
Patricia Gadir
Lyon Naumann
Mira Benson
Gracelyn Boyle
Chloe Kirshbaum
Asya Litvak
Jordyn Grand
Naomi Bashan
Killian Serrano
Ashley Affleck
sydney glaberson
Lea Gruen
Elizabeth Doyle
Sarah Trout
Bari Siegall
Tova Tanzer
courtney grant
Willow Wilde
Leah Inoyatov
Susannah Waksberg
Avery Ehlers
Anna Ioffe
Violet Uvaydova
Sarah Murray
Hannah Tucker

Winning Application

Hayley Rein
University of California-Los AngelesLos Angeles, CA


When is the scholarship application deadline?

The application deadline is Aug 25, 2024. Winners will be announced on Sep 25, 2024.