For DonorsFor Applicants
user profile avatar

Cortney Anderson


Bold Points




I am an Alaska Native woman from Anchorage, Alaska, and I am working on my master's degree in social work. I am passionate about mental health and substance use recovery services, and work particularly with underserved and formerly incarcerated individuals. My goal is work on both micro and macro levels to make the most change in my small community and beyond by advocating for holistic wellness.


University of Southern California

Master's degree program
2023 - 2024
  • Majors:
    • Social Work

Pomona College

Bachelor's degree program
2011 - 2015
  • Majors:
    • Sociology


  • Desired degree level:

    Doctoral degree program (PhD, MD, JD, etc.)

  • Graduate schools of interest:

  • Transfer schools of interest:

  • Majors of interest:

    • Social Work
  • Not planning to go to medical school
  • Career

    • Dream career field:

      Mental Health Care

    • Dream career goals:

    • Counselor

      Genesis Recovery Services
      2020 – Present4 years



    2008 – 20113 years

    Future Interests





    Lost Dreams Awaken Scholarship
    Recovery is not a one-time event but a lifelong process that begins with a decision to reinvest in oneself, and to devote energy and time to physical, mental, emotional and spiritual well-being and to recover what has been lost. I made this decision five years ago, and ever since I have not had one good reason to drink or use any mind-altering substances because as they say, there's nothing that could be so bad in my life that getting drunk or high won't just make worse. My recovery journey has been a process of unlearning and relearning, of practicing, radical acceptance, responsibility and the principles of the program. It is a daily practice of living life on life's terms and accepting the blessings that come with making the next right choice every single day, no matter what. My life is by no means perfect, the only thing I have done perfectly is not use. I attend NA meetings, I have a sponsor and I work steps, I stay close to the wolfpack, friends who know me and who I trust to hold me accountable. It's a "we" thing, and with this safe landing spot, I have been able to recover the person I was meant to be before I went wrong. Five years clean, and I am finally pursuing my MSW, I am engaged, I have my family in my life and I travel the world. As they say, old dreams awaken and new possibilities arise. I am truly grateful.